Landlocked Music - 115 S. Walnut St. - Bloomington, IN - 47404


COVID Phone Hours:
Monday - Saturday : 12noon - 4pm

"Almost." We're tweaking our re-open plan to manage safety and sanity- and getting closer, but not yet ready to open our door for browsing. Sorry! If you're looking for something, please call (812-339-2574) or email us- we are happy to answer your questions. For now, we are at the store Monday thru Saturday between Noon and 4pm.

Head to our online store at: Locals can use the LOCAL checkout code and we will contact you for pickup options. Contact us if you don't see what you're looking for! Donate to our employee tip jar.

New Releases - June 5

Muzz - s/t CD/LP (Matador)

The debut album from Paul Banks (Interpol), Matt Barrick (The Walkmen) and Josh Kaufman (Bonny Light Horseman). 'We have a genuine, organic artistic chemistry together,' says Banks. 'It's partly a shared musical taste from youth, as with me and Josh, but then it's also the souls of my friends that resonate with me when expressed through music.' The resulting songs are dark and gorgeous, expansive and sparse, like Cormac McCarthy prose stretched across a cowboy painting of a sunset.

El Michels Affair - Adult Themes CD/LP (Big Crown)

This album takes the band's "Cinematic Soul" aesthetic literally and sends the listener on a journey through a whirlwind of moods and energies. In 2017 in between producing, playing, and recording on other artists' records Leon Michels began creating compilations of short interludes intended to be sampled by hip hop producers. Some of these wound up becoming songs by Jay Z & Beyonce, Travis Scott, and Don Toliver. These minute-long snippets were inspired by the dense moody work of 60s composers like David Axelrod, and Francois de Roubaix, as well as Moondog's brand of classical jazz. All of these tunes come together to make perfect backgrounds for dialogue and action.

Four Tet - Sixteen Oceans CD/LP (Text)

For two decades, Four Tet has stayed remarkably consistent. It's hard to think of another electronic musician whose work feels so tactile: Sampling acoustic instruments from folk and jazz recordings, his music revels in the physicality of sound—the way a plucked string quivers in the air or a drum brush tickles a snare head. His touch is unmistakable, and Sixteen Oceans is frequently gorgeous and sometimes gripping. Kieran Hebden's latest album of club-ready barnstormers and downbeat daydreams feels like a companion to 2017's New Energy.

Hinds - The Prettiest Curse CD/LP (Mom + Pop)

Each time they take the stage, the Madrid rock band create a kind of wild magic, a feel-good free-for-all. While the band's first two albums channeled the euphoric energy of their live show in their gorgeously punchy take on garage-rock, their latest full-length adds entirely new texture to their sound. The album takes its title from the sometimes- daunting experience of giving your soul to rock-and-roll. In its making, Hinds devised a brilliantly unpredictable vocabulary for communicating their most painful feelings. Unfolding in frenetic guitar riffs and buzzing basslines, powerful drumming and delicate piano work, the album endlessly delivers massively catchy melodies and vocals that growl and sigh with equal ferocity. Color vinyl while it lasts.

Shindig Magazine - Issue 103/104: Eric Burdon & the Animals / Judee Sill (Shindig)

New issue featuring: Amon Duul II, Bananagun, Blues, Children Of The State, El Michels Affair, Gloria, Greg Prevost, Hippies Vs Ghosts, Jon Anderson & The Warriors, Judee Sill, Kai Clark, Malcolm Goldie, Moura, Sam Burton, Sonic Boom, The Association, The Vapors, The Yorkshire Folk. Issue 103 featuring: Eric Burdon & the Animals, Paul Weller, Carole King and much more!

Also New This Week

Ambrose Akinmusire - On The Tender Spot Of Every Calloused Moment CD (Blue Note)
Stefon Harris & Blackout - Sonic Creed CD (Motema)
Sarah Jarosz - World On The Ground CD (Rounder)
Katie Malco - Failures CD/LP (6131)
Melenas - Dias Raros CD/LP (Trouble in Mind)
Prince - CD/LP reissues (Sony)
John Scofield / Steve Swallow - Swallow Tales CD (ECM)
Tenci - My Heart is an Open Field CD/LP/TAPE (Keeled Scales)
Varsity - Fine Forever LP (Run for Cover)


Email Newsletter

Sign up for our weekly newsletter and get timely information about brand new and upcoming releases, local performances from nationally touring bands, special promotions and value-adds available only at Landlocked and so much more - delivered straight to your inbox every Friday. Your one-stop email for answering your questions about new music. Do it.

Landlocked Top 5

Our top 5 sellers for the week of 5/22 to 5/28

1. Tyler Damon & Tashi Dorji - To Catch A Bird In A Net Of Wind LP (Trost)
2. Blaze Foley - Live at the Austin Outhouse LP + 7" (End of an Ear)
3. Choir Boy - Gathering Swans (Dais)
4. Perfume Genius - Set My Heart On Fire Immediately (Matador)
5. Steve Earle & the Dukes - Ghosts of West Virginia (New West)


Bibio - Sleep On The Wing (Warp)
Built To Spill - Plays The Songs Of Daniel Johnston (Ernest Jennings)
Guerilla Toss - vs Jay Glass Dubs (DFA)
Jehnny Beth (Savages) - To Love is to Live (JB)
Norah Jones - Pick Me Up Off the Floor (Blue Note)
Kidbug - s/t (Joyful Noise)
Maserati - Enter the Mirror (Temporary Residence)
The 1975 - Notes On A Conditional Form (Interscope)
Sonic Boom - All Things Being Equal (Carpark)

COMING SOON - Pre-Order Now!

Pre-Orders can be made in person at the store or online, for local pickup enter "LOCAL" at checkout when asked for a discount code. On release day, we will have your order waiting, including any special goodies we might get.

Neil Young - Homegrown (6/19)
Bob Dylan - Rough And Rowdy Ways (6/19)
Brian Wilson & Van Dyke Parks - Orange Crate Art (6/19)
The National - High Violet DLX 3LP (6/19)
Phoebe Bridgers - Punisher (6/19)
Deerhoof - Future Teenage Cave Artists (6/19)
Gordi - Our Two Skins (6/19)
Ray LaMontagne - Monovision (6/26)
Khruangbin - Mordechai (6/26)
Pottery - Welcome to Bobby's Motel (6/26)
Julianna Barwick - Healing Is A Miracle (7/10)
Protomartyr - Ultimate Success Today (7/17)
Surfer Blood - Carefree Theatre (7/17)
Bing & Ruth - Species (7/17)
Arca - Kick I (7/17)
Jarv Is (Jarvis Cocker) - Beyond the Pale (7/17)
Fiona Apple - Fetch the Bolt Cutters (7/17)
Winter - Endless Space (Between You & I) (7/24)
PJ Harvey - Dry/Demos (7/24)
Ohmme - Fantasize Your Ghost (7/31)
Fontaines DC - A Hero's Death (7/31)
Jason Molina - Eight Gates (8/7)
Girl on the Third Floor OST (8/14)
Kamaal Williams - Wu Hen (8/14)
X - Alphabetland (8/21)
No Joy - Motherhood (8/21)
Orville Peck - Show Pony (8/21)
Kelly Lee Owens - Inner Song (8/28)
Dirty Knobs [Petty's guitarist] - Wreckless Abandon (9/18)
Run the Jewels - RTJ4 (9/18)
Bob Mould - Blue Hearts (9/25)